Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Warner Bros. Announces DC Comics Film Schedule Through 2020

DC Comics fans, you've had to deal with smacktalk from Marvel fans for quite a while now, but your time has finally come.

The Hollywood Reporter has word that Warner Bros. CEO Kevin Tuijihara has announced the studio's plans for films based on DC Comics properties through 2020.  Ten films for the new DC Cinematic Universe were named, although some of them were previously confirmed.  Here's the rundown...
  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice directed by Zack Snyder (2016)
  • Suicide Squad directed by David Ayer (2016)
  • Wonder Woman starring Gal Gadot (2017)
  • Justice League Part One directed by Snyder, with Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)
  • The Flash starring Ezra Miller (2018)
  • Aquaman starring Jason Momoa (2018)
  • Shazam (2019)
  • Justice League Part Two directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
  • Cyborg starring Ray Fisher (2020)
  • Green Lantern (2020)
In addition, Tuijihara's press release also mentioned standalone films for Superman and Batman. 

DC appears to have beaten Marvel to the punch by announcing Wonder Woman and Cyborg, featuring female and African-American superheroes that have yet to be featured in any solo Marvel film. 

It seems the rumored Flash/Green Lantern team-up film isn't happening after all, with solo films for both characters instead.  The simple Green Lantern title is also interesting, implying a possible reboot from the 2011 film starring Ryan Reynolds, although that could easily change between now and 2020.

No comments:

Post a Comment